packing

August 3, 2008 at 8:25 pm 2 comments

I’ve been buying things online for my trip, primarily through backcountry.com. I really like this site. I have an Arc’teryx backpack, but it’s so big and organized that i can easily overpack it and make it weigh too much! I want to pack light. Everything i take needs to be light, multi-functional, fast drying, etc.

I plan to hand wash my things if there are no washing machines available for my use. I hate to give my clothes to other people to wash… because it always comes out with that strong stench of detergent.

I’m not good with budgets but i’m planning on living on <1000usd a month. Air tickets depending on whether i get ‘around the world’ or not will range from 1600-4000. My preparation for the trip will cost about 1000.

I don’t have the support of my family. One thinks i’m never going to return because i’m going to die, another thinks i’m going to be forced into an underground brothel, another tries to talk me out of it by talking to me like i’m 4 “Ты же разумная девочка” (you are a clever girl aren’t you)..

My traveling alone is a fact that they often bring up. “Why don’t you travel with someone?” “Find a boy to travel with.” “Don’t you have any friends to go with?” “No one travels to these countries alone” …. i am so fed up with their pessimism that i’ve stopped trying to explain that i don’t want to travel with “just someone,” that having a travel partner is a big commitment and being the difficult person i am i fare a lot better traveling alone and choosing when to part with the friends i’ve made and go off to and make new ones. I hate feeling trapped, misunderstood, and responsible for someone else’s mistakes… and if i don’t have the right travel partner all of this will be my burden. Why should i bother when traveling alone makes me more responsible, perceptive, and stimulated. I found a quote from the Dhammapada, a scripture thought to be written by the Buddha himself.

Travel only with thy equals or thy betters; if there are none, travel alone.

Entry filed under: travel. Tags: .

hi! Tickets

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Matt  |  August 4, 2008 at 9:21 pm

    Get a bottle of Dr. Bronner’s soap to clean stuff with. It’s LNT and really good stuff for everything.

    Remember water tabs take time to work.. the new Steri-Pen is good stuff if the water is particle free. It kills quite a few things and leaves no taste.

    I know you’ve traveled before, but having contact information for local embassies is good. A color photocopy of your passport to give to people (so you can keep the original hidden and in your control).

    I might also stash a handful of energy bars or something else if you get stuck someplace.

    I’ll take a look at my backpacking list and see what else I usually take.

    Reply
  • 2. Svetlana Shuster  |  October 23, 2008 at 5:24 am

    I think it’s awesome.. I’m extremely proud of you :) You’re a very brave girl.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

Archives


