Bangkok

August 25, 2008 at 8:53 am 1 comment

I forgot how stressful first days can be.

Before i fell asleep in the airport (after my brother dropped me off) i was becoming overwhelmed with thoughts about why and how and i’m going to travel. Thoughts that i hadn’t paid attention to before, became really vocal and assuming. I started to feel almost sick with worry. The reality that i was leaving my safe environment and going into one that was unfamiliar and where i knew nothing was finally being perceived. But i was so tired that i fell asleep and with the predicament that came with waking up they were almost forgotten. That is until i got to Bangkok. The heaviness of my backpack and the heat would continuously rock my stability. But not for long. As soon as i would stop and put some cold water on my face and take off my heavy backpack the anxiety would cease and i’d feel stronger and more calm. I’m thankful to my CS host for easing some of the initial stress by offering me advice and company.

Sometimes i compare Bangkok to Delhi. Compared to Bangkok, Delhi was dirtier, poorer, and the pushers more aggressive. In Delhi, the rickshaw (tuk tuk) drivers were (generally) so poor that they slept in their rickshaws at night when they didn’t work. Seeing people groom and sleep outside wasn’t unusual. Being harassed for being a female and walking without male company was the worst of Delhi’s qualities… But i think the source of my comparisons is that i miss India.

I’m leaving Bangkok today to go to Ayutthaya, the former capital of Thailand. Whenever i’ve mentioned this city to Thais, they always respond with an air of reverence towards it. Today is also Monday, and it is custom to where yellow shirts on Mondays to honor the king, who was born on a Monday.

Entry filed under: travel. Tags: , .

departure moral, selfish dilemma

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Dina  |  August 26, 2008 at 9:29 am

    How is your knee after all?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

Archives


