First day of teaching

December 9, 2008 at 2:23 pm 1 comment

Some of the other volunteers have been preparing their lessons since Wednsday last week. Not me. I started the night before at 9pm. I’m teaching 3 classes of intermediate level students by myself, and co-teaching one beginner’s level class. I think the co-teaching will be the hardest. I’ve never been fond of groups and group work. My other is Eli and he wants me to lead. I feel something like anxiety about this because our approaches are so different.

My other distress is that i teach all 4 class in a row! From 4pm through 8pm without a break. The only diversion i get is the trip up and down the stairs i take every hour to get to the next classroom. By my last class yesterday i was yawning and my throat was sore. You can hide a weak throat, but you can’t stop yawning. I felt embarressed.

However the teaching itself gives me a lot of pleasure. I like the control i have over what i do in the class, i like the opportunity to use my own faculties and intuition to evaluate the progress of the students and decide what to teach next and how.

The first classes started at 6:30 in the morning and by the time i woke up at 8 there was discussion in the living room of our house about the experience. It reminded me of little chicklets with their mother hen: each chick follows the hen, jumping over obstacles and ditches without hesitation, as if it were just the natural way of things, where neither courage nor fear had a place in the experience. Likewise, one by one the volunteers took on the role of teacher. No hesitation. Everyone proceeded to their classes at the assigned hour despite being near complete teaching virgins (save the 3 who have teaching experience). But unlike the chicks, we were conscious of the move we’d made and experienced a sense of relief which we articulated to one another with exclamations such as “It wasn’t so bad!”

Entry filed under: travel. Tags: , , , .

Beaurocracy steps on my sense of entitlement Teaching 2

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Dina  |  December 9, 2008 at 4:34 pm

    Agree. It wasn’t so bad!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

Archives


