childhood

December 20, 2008 at 7:27 pm 2 comments

When i was a child and student in P.S. 101 in Brooklyn, November and December were always spent preparing for the Holiday show. I wasn’t enthusiastic about anything back than so i never got a leading role. I didn’t stand out vocally so the chorus did not want me. Despite my enthuisism for moving to music now i’ve been a hater of dance step instruction since childhood. And so not only was i demoted to dancer, i was made to dance in the back! If my parents had come to watch the performances, tickets for which were sold to parents in order to gather money for school activities i know not which, they would not have seen me on stage. We wore red and green skirts made out of the same fuzzy material school kids use to make Christmas tree decorations. I enjoyed the rehearsals only because they provided opportunities to escape the monotomy of the class but they also made me feel less confident in myself. I wondered, what will i be like in one year? In 5 years? In 10?

Last night as the Christmas tunes chimed through the Phnom Penh lounge and i sipped my bear Lao i thought how surprised my childself would be to know this future. 

I am so happy with all the choices i’ve made in my life. Those who are still in my life, thank you!

And here i am approximately half an hour before/after the moment of when i thought these thoughts.

christmas

Entry filed under: travel. Tags: , , , .

teaching difficulties a sunday visit to the garbage dump and some criticism

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dina  |  December 21, 2008 at 11:03 am

    The truth is that everyone can sing, even a bear :)

    Reply
  • 2. dina  |  December 21, 2008 at 11:04 am

    I like your hair, I want mine the same.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

Archives


