table matters

January 11, 2009 at 4:52 pm 3 comments

I came to Yejj cafe to get do some research for my paper on Cambodia. Instead i spent the last hour on facebook and poemhunter.com.

She who did not come, wasn’t she determined
nonetheless to organize and decorate my heart?
If we had to exist to become the one we love,
what would the heart have to create?

Lovely joy left blank, perhaps you are
the center of all my labors and my loves.
If I’ve wept for you so much, it’s because
I preferred you among so many outlined joys

-Rilke


I need to find a space to work in. This cafe isn’t good. It has internet and that distracts me from doing research. In theory i could do two things at once here, practice self-control and write the paper – but the former just doesn’t temp me enough to try it.

I can’t work in the volunteer house because there’s no table there. There’s the table we eat on but it’s sticky regardless of how well it’s cleaned. There’s the couch and coffee table but i can’t sit comfortably and write there. And there are always too many mosquitoes near this couch. I go to bed later than all the others and at night when i sit there with my books the parasites attack me. Or maybe they just want to be friends?

The paper i am writing is about Cambodia, its history and the present. The first part is a research paper on the history, the second an informal summary of discussions i will hold with young Cambodians about their opportunities and perceptions of the country. I look forward to writing it and the books i’ve read thus far have been extremely interesting.

I hypothesize that my informants will tell me that in Cambodia their opportunities are limited and that they want their country to be more like America…. In contrast, i feel that at the present time i am experiencing more in Cambodia than in America, and that it is here where i have the opportunity to do things i cannot do in America like work informally, actively, do things that are interesting and stimulating for me and beneficial for others. What else do i need right now?

Entry filed under: travel. Tags: , , , .

30th Anniversary just a rant

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. teachingchris  |  January 12, 2009 at 10:49 am

    I recommend going to Java — on Sihanouk just east of the monument, south side of the street. It’s quieter than Yejj…

    We spent many many weekend mornings there with friends enjoying ice coffee, and many many weekend afternoons there marking piles of papers :)

    Reply
  • 2. teachingchris  |  January 12, 2009 at 10:50 am

    Just for curiosity’s sake, does Sister’s Cafe (just down the street from Yejj – across from the market) still exist?

    Reply
  • 3. Yelena Shuster  |  January 13, 2009 at 2:05 pm

    yep, the sister’s cafe is still here and i’ve heard that they make really good waffles but i have yet to go there myself.

    at this moment i’m actually sitting in le etelier (owned by the guy who used to own the melting pot) which is a few doors down from the sisters’

    thanks for the recommendation about java.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

Archives


