Sometimes we go…

January 14, 2009 at 1:21 pm Leave a comment

Sometimes we go to one of the more expensive hotels to use their pool and wifi.

Today we went to Villa Lanka. I must have stood at the brink of the pool for 5 minutes before i summoned the courage to jump in. There’s something very unpleasant about the shock of cold water for me. I stood there and every 30 seconds i’d make a resolution to jump and my body would jerk forward but then i’d recall the consequences of feeling wet and cold and my body would get tense again preventing me from pursuing the course into the water.

When i finally jumped i had time to think – there’s no way of escaping the consequences that are due in a millisecond – before i leaped into the icy pool. The smell of chlorine was so overwhelming, i tasted it in my mouth. I splashed around for a minute. I saw the waiter bring my smoothie over to my lounge chair and took that as a cue to ask permission from my more resolute self (the self that likes physical challenges) to leave. Permission was granted.

smallpool

catpool

I miss the warm waters of Sihanoukville…

firstsim-057

Entry filed under: travel. Tags: , .

just a rant Sharing Foundation

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

Archives


