Dancing and flesh eating fish

January 27, 2009 at 12:29 pm 1 comment

Interesting follow-up on my previous post about my disdain for drinking. Bandolier medical journal suggests that people should drink regularly for optimal health.

“Moderate alcohol consumers have lower mortality than either non-drinkers or heavy drinkers. This meta-analysis aims to quantify the level of alcohol which provides the most protection against death and disease.”

My reasons for not drinking are almost exclusively based on my dislike of alcohol’s taste. I feel like i am drinking a never-ending supply of piss when i drink beer. At least vodka is drunk quickly and with more enthusiasm. My primary reason for not smoking is also because it tastes bad. Sometimes i wish i smoked because if i did i’d have something to occupy me as i careened the introduction with new people.

—–

Last night we went to see some traditional dancing. The dancing was charming, especially the dances that included the boys. It reminded me of Cossack dances, with the men dressed as peasants and making the “huh” sound in unison. The restaurant served a buffet to the 200+ guests. It was the first time i have seen a buffet run out of food…

img_7921

A really interesting thing happened at the end of the performance, when basically all the Japanese tourists in the audience started going on stage to be photographed with the dancers. I’d never seen a thing before.

—–

Interested in a natural sustainable spa experience? Go to the Siem Reap night market.

Two nights ago i put my feet into a pool of fish with an appetite for dead skin. The fish were imported from Turkey said the young Khmer entrepreneur. Unfortunately he couldn’t tell me if the fish breed in the same pool. It took me several minutes to gather enough courage to keep my feet firmly inside. I can’t confirm if it made my feet any softer but it did tickle!

img_7870

img_7872

Entry filed under: travel. Tags: , , .

“Drunken negro face” cookies a visit to the hospital and the Angkor temples

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. dina  |  January 30, 2009 at 10:12 am

    I looked at all new pictures. Like them!

    On webcam your face is very pretty.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

Archives


