one more week of teaching

February 17, 2009 at 11:24 am 3 comments

I didn’t realize how attached I’ve become to Phnom Penh and how distressed I’ll feel (at least until I make new companions) when I leave. There’s a new rhythm to my life. Habits and understanding that make every day easy and comfortable. I have developed a sense of direction and I know how to communicate to get where I want to go, I know how much to pay and how to tip, I know where to go when I am hungry, where to find solitude, and where to find company. Every Friday night the same people meet at the same bar and go to the same nightclubs. A fabric is being woven and when I leave I will have to tear it and put what was into my sachet of memories.

The expat world of Phnom Penh is special. You’re an outcast and yet you’re not really an outcast. Your skills and work ethic are in demand, the locals respect you for reasons even they are not sure about, and you have the company of other expats who in various ways share your disillusionment, expectations, and desires. If you are a man you have the added benefit of being desired by hundreds of beautiful enthusiastic women.

Entry filed under: travel. Tags: , , .

finding and loosing focus February 18, 2009

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dina  |  February 18, 2009 at 10:33 am

    I showed your pictures some of my lib.ru friends. They all liked them.
    G.L. said that you should write about it and illustrate the writing.
    Maybe I will write after you come back and tell me more.

    Reply
  • 2. Molly  |  February 21, 2009 at 8:17 am

    P.S.
    what is happening to those chickens?

    Reply
  • 3. Yelena Shuster  |  February 21, 2009 at 5:08 pm

    i think he wants to sell them.
    they weren’t moving but they were still alive. he had probably crammed them all into a basket and loaded them on the back of his motobike and brought them to phnom penh. so they were probably really dehydrated at this stage and he was force feeding them water…

    something like this

    it’s common in asia. vietnam apparently banned it due to the bird flu scares.

    they also transport dead pigs like this. AND they even sell post cards to tourists with photos of this. it would be interesting to keep statistics on what kind of people buy these. future nazis, wife-beaters, arsonists?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

Archives


