Guangzhou

May 24, 2009 at 4:31 pm 2 comments

Spent 5 days in Guangzhou, a metropolis with a population of over 8 million and the 3rd most populous city in China. I visited Qing Ping market, famous for its sale of live animals (although contrary to what Lonely Planet claims they are not for consumption).

3

Though their handlers don’t seem to mistreat them, I still worry about these animals because they are too young to be separated from their mothers and there are too many of them for sale. Every seller has a dozen different breeds, beautiful gentle little creatures. But there were hardly any animals older than two months which makes one wonder what happens to them when no one buys them. Probably their fate is in one of China’s kitchens (this part of China is famous for its cat and dog meat dishes, afterall).

I visited Shamian island, which looks more European than the rest of the city. But it was raining when I went there so I didn’t see very much. I took a walk in Yuexi park, Guangzhou’s version of central park, it was clean and full of trees but too sterile and planned for my taste. And on Friday I attended a scrumptious dinner party hosted by an Italian expat who’s been living in Guangzhou for 8 years!

4

It has been raining nonstop since I got here.

My next destination is Guilin. And after that Yangshuo. Both are smaller, less polluted and covered in forest. After that I’m off to Yunnan province, considered by many to be the most beautiful part of China.

5

Entry filed under: travel. Tags: , .

What are you doing!? Tomatoes

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dina  |  May 28, 2009 at 11:18 am

    The more I look at you the more I want you home.

    Reply
  • 2. Yelena Shuster  |  May 28, 2009 at 4:00 pm

    Why?
    You should come and taste a little…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

Archives


