Kiva: Motivation statement

March 2, 2010 at 2:39 pm 2 comments

I am applying to Kiva as a fellow, hoping to intern at a micro-lending institution somewhere in the world. Here is my motivational statement:

I want to learn more about the world and the people who live here and I want to contribute. My passion is knowledge and I’m curious about everything. I have a penchant for finding value and beauty in what is commonly perceived as debris. Ever since my trip to Southeast Asia last year I have been thinking about ways I can participate in the cultural and technological developments and exchanges occurring in our day. I feel that it is my generations’ role that will determine how our neighbors to the South and East fare, and that I can have some beneficial effect on others by doing something or other.

I am applying to become a Kiva Fellow because I think Kiva is a good place to start learning about international and local development. It’s presence throughout the world and ties to local communities can provide me with insights that will be helpful to me in my study of humanity. I admire Kiva’s work abroad because I believe that small businesses are vital to growing economies and that micro-lending can deeply transform the lives of individuals, families and communities.

In the future I would like to attend graduate school, with a focus on developing countries and individuals therein.



Entry filed under: travel. Tags: .

Grushenka What is Kiva?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alex  |  April 10, 2010 at 6:32 pm

    well good to see u that ur doing all of this traveling alone without any help… i really like what ur doing right keep it up and never give up.

    Reply
  • 2. Lena Shuster  |  April 15, 2010 at 8:13 pm

    hi Alex, thanks for the kind wishes :p

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other subscribers

Archives