Oily tea in Baku

May 31, 2010 at 7:12 am 1 comment

The Kiva regional coordinator for Central Asia / Eastern Europe is visiting Azerbaijan. She doesn’t speak Russian so during her interaction (or interrogation) with the staff of my MFI I got to act as translator. Translating is like having a lively conversation without having to think for yourself, all that’s needed is concentration and articulation. Usually, I zone out several times during a conversation, but being the messenger of the conversation made me a lot more attentive. And it was relaxing and fun. My Russian, to my surprise, was not as weak as I expected. Besides several dozen business terms like наблюдательный совет (board of directors) for which I used ‘google translate’ I was able to translate efficiently and correctly (okay, maybe sometimes a little crudely).

I didn’t drink my tea this morning and left it to wait for me, covered, on the kitchen table. By the time I returned home 5 hours later, it looked like this. I was told that my neighborhood is one of the only ones with safe drinking water, but even boiled water here is unappetizing.

Young Azeris (or maybe just Azeri girls) are obsessed with Eurovision, an annual song contest with origins in the 1950s. It seems that most of Europe goes into a frenzy during each Eurovision competition, yet I’d never heard of it until last week. The judges are the audience who vote through text messages that cost about 60 cents to send. In this year’s contest, Azerbaijan won 5th place. Germany’s 19 year old Lena won 1st. My favorite contestant, Peter Nalitch, won 11th.

Walk down Niyazi street in Baku

Icherisheher metro station

The many me's..

Interesting balcony

One of many felines in Baku

Entry filed under: travel. Tags: , , , , , .

What’s happening in Azerbaijan? What I hate/love about Baku (list)

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Lena  |  May 31, 2010 at 7:19 pm

    Interesnye foto,

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

Archives


