Loneliness in Baku

June 8, 2010 at 7:15 am 7 comments

Just another charming house in Baku.

According to an article published yesterday in an Azerbaijani newspaper, there are only 7,000-some foreigners working in the whole country! And this number includes people from Turkey (who to be blatantly honest are not really “foreign” in Azerbaijan despite their different nationality). Cambodia on the contrary probably had more than a 100,000 international workers from Europe, America and Australia, plus another several hundred thousand tourists every year! (I can’t find exact statistics)

This meant that in Cambodia there were establishments that catered to foreign tastes such as restaurants, pubs and dance clubs where meeting other foreigners was easy. It’s not that Khmers didn’t patronize these places, many did (especially Khmer women), but the style of service and general demographic was such that a western girl traveling solo felt comfortable being there, instead of guarded and insecure.

Azerbaijan’s low number of expatriates and tourists is a major reason why living here feels so damn lonely. It’s not that I am devoid of company. I work with good people and I live with 3 (European) roommates. But I feel stuck. Whereas in Cambodia, there was a variety of places I could go and find expats and travelers, in Baku there is a much smaller group of people… most of whom I don’t even know how to meet! Sometimes I am approached by an Azeri men who wants to be my friend, but most of these men don’t even speak Russian. I’m not disparaging cultural exchange, but I’m not interested in being courted by Azeri men who can’t communicate with me, dress like dolls and adhere to a bunch of irrational gender formalities.

I want to go dancing. My body craves movement and music. Where should I go? And with whom?

Mardakan beach, 40 km outside of Baku, where I went on Sunday alone

Mostly men? Yup.

Entry filed under: travel. Tags: , , .

Kittens and stupid American cinema How to use couchsurfing

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Loneliness in Baku « Thought soup | azerbaijantoday  |  June 8, 2010 at 7:42 am

    […] bore me. I want to go dancing. My body craves movement and music . … Read the original: Loneliness in Baku « Thought soup Share and […]

    Reply
  • 2. Hi  |  June 10, 2010 at 9:23 am

    Hi! Next time just gimme a call and that is it)))

    Reply
    • 3. Lena Shuster  |  June 10, 2010 at 10:05 am

      Maybe, but I don’t know who you are.

      Reply
  • 4. кальбинур  |  July 13, 2010 at 2:34 pm

    вы сегодня были у нас если конечно помнете я Кальбинур помнете навернго в интернет кафе ! я хотелбы поговарить с вами если есть вазможность и есди вы не против позваните мне +994709333402 и ешё +994556992370 буду рад !

    Reply
  • 5. Existential migration « Thought soup  |  July 23, 2010 at 4:07 am

    […] 23, 2010 Over a month ago i wrote about the scarcity of foreign workers in Azerbaijan. According to a news source from today total of 7,091 foreign citizens worked in […]

    Reply
  • 6. Life in Baku « Thought soup  |  July 28, 2010 at 6:23 am

    […] 28, 2010 Over a month ago I wrote about the scarcity of foreign workers in Azerbaijan. According to today’s news Azerbaijan’s current labor migration quota is […]

    Reply
  • 7. Life in Baku « Thought soup  |  July 28, 2010 at 6:24 am

    […] 23, 2010 Over a month ago I wrote about the scarcity of foreign workers in Azerbaijan. According to today’s news Azerbaijan’s current labor migration quota is […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

Archives


