Oh yes! I’d love some E. Coli!

July 28, 2010 at 6:15 am 6 comments

This is going to be a semi-personal post about my body. I was so unnerved yesterday thinking that I was being a hypochondriac that I was relieved to see the specks of bright blood coming out of my urethra after peeing. It was confirmed. I wasn’t imagining a urinary tract infection, I had one.

The main cause of urinary tract infections in women is E. Coli bacteria. And as it turns out,  Azerbaijan beaches are full of them!

The sea water in Sumgait contains E. coli and other harmful bacterias in the amount of 9,500-180,400 for a liter of water, 4500-11200 per liter of water in Shikh and 3,000-13,800 per liter of water in Sahil.

And guess what I did the day before I felt my symptoms? A long swim at the beach in Shuvalan…

With friends from Italy, Germany and Switzerland

Entry filed under: travel. Tags: , .

Life in Baku Hitchhiking from Baku to Tbilisi

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. krysta  |  July 28, 2010 at 1:16 pm

    That’s disgusting. Not your infection, just the E. Coli. Gross. Drink lots of cranberry juice!

    Reply
  • 2. Dina  |  July 28, 2010 at 3:55 pm

    Are you taking any medication?

    Reply
  • 3. Lena Shuster  |  July 28, 2010 at 4:35 pm

    No cranberry juice here, just antibiotics ;-(

    Reply
  • 4. Dina  |  July 28, 2010 at 10:05 pm

    Good!

    Reply
  • 5. Christopher  |  July 29, 2010 at 9:35 am

    so sorry this happened. the e coli could come from a number of places. sewage, people, bird droppings. The guy might have it too.

    Reply
  • 6. Edwin  |  August 19, 2010 at 2:57 pm

    Yikes – what a disgusting beach! And I thought the pool at the Y was gross…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

Archives


