Baking khachapuri

September 23, 2010 at 3:07 am 3 comments

I decided to learn how to make khachapuri, a traditional Georgian cheese bread. I arrived at a quarter passed 11 at the bakery where I usually buy khachapuri to learn from them. The three sisters who run the bakery are refugees from Abkazia, who left their homes with almost nothing but the clothes on their back during the 1992 war. They started the bakery 2 years ago and learned to bake by practice. They work over 12 hours daily and the younger sister tells me that she has not been to the sea for almost 20 years.

I rolled out doe, filled it with cheese and haphazardly pulled it together. Although I enjoy cooking, I’ve never really baked before. I never had a grandmother or other close female relatives to teach me, and my mother hardly baked anything since we came to America. Despite its simple ingredients doe intimidated me.

After two hours on my feet I felt exhausted. Even now as I write this at 9pm, the sisters are still in the bakery. And yet, after only four hours of work I still feel weak despite the rest I took.

“In the beginning we made many errors, we didn’t know how many to prepare and so we were throwing out by the bags… Our feet ached so badly during those first days, now we are used to it” said Sveta as she took the oven-hot khachapuris in her hand one by one and brought them to the show display case in the front of the bakery.

In making khachapuri I was surprised by the amount of margarine used. To make the right kind of doe, the doe must be rolled out and folded, and then rolled out and refolded again, and again. Afterwards it is refrigerated and then rolled out yet again. But before the first folding takes place 4 packs of margarine are applied to the doe (3 kilos of flour are used). The margarine is soft and Sveta uses her hand to sweep it evenly along the whole length of the doe. After it is refrigerated for 15 minutes or overnight if time permits, it is cut into smaller pieces for individual khachapuri.

Then fresh crumbled cheese is added and the doe is sealed shut as if sealing an envelope. It is placed on the hot pan and beaten egg is glazed over the top. After 10 minutes in the oven, you have khachapuri!

Entry filed under: travel. Tags: , , .

Tkibuli, development, hitchhiking, more Tamam in Marmaris

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. luka  |  September 29, 2010 at 3:46 pm

    Doe, a deer, a female deer
    Ray, a drop of golden sun
    Me, a name I call myself
    Far, a long long way to run
    Sew, a needle pulling thread
    La, a note to follow sew
    Tea, I drink with jam and bread
    That will bring us back to doe…oh oh oh
    (it’s spelled dough!!)

    Reply
  • 2. Dina  |  October 5, 2010 at 9:42 pm

    Давай, учись. Будешь дома делать хачапури.
    :)

    Reply
  • 3. Genadi  |  October 6, 2010 at 11:40 am

    Glad for you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

Archives


